The Best Homemade Double Chocolate Brownies

I love love love brownies. They are probably my favorite chocolaty dessert. I have tried countless brownie recipes and I never found one that was as good as the boxed brownies that I haven been eating for years. Good news… I’ve finally found a recipe that is BETTER than boxed brownies. That’s right, you read that correctly. Every recipe I previously tried was either too dry or too cake like. This recipe is perfect! They’re gooey, chocolaty, moist and they will keep you coming back for more. I can honestly say I will never make boxed brownies again. These were honestly the best brownies I have ever tasted.

Ingredients
1 cup (2 sticks) butter
2 1/4 cups granulated sugar
1 1/4 cups cocoa powder
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tbs. vanilla extract
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups flour
2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips
Directions
Preheat oven to 350º F. Lightly grease a 9 x 13 inch baking pan with shortening; set aside. In a medium saucepan melt butter over low heat. Once butter is completely melted add in sugar and cook for 1 to 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Pour sugar mixture into a large bowl. Beat in cocoa, salt, baking powder, vanilla, eggs. Mix until combined. Stir in the flour and chocolate chips until well combined. Spread brownie batter into prepared pan (batter will be very thick). Bake for approximately 30 minutes.
Cool on a cooling rack and enjoy!
Adapted from King Arthur Flour
2 thoughts on “The Best Homemade Double Chocolate Brownies

  1. Did a search for chocolate brownies & found these & made them on the fly since I was out of boxed brownies. These brownies are SUPER rich. Yes, they are gooey but the batter is just too dense in my opinion & they're so rich that you really can only eat one (and I LOVE chocolate!) I personally won't be making these again. I much prefer the boxed brownies that are gooey & rich without being dense & overpowering.

  2. THESE ARE AWESOME BROWNIES! The flavor is such that you just cannot achieve with a mix. Watch the baking time carefully. Mine were done at 25 minutes and this is a recipe that you do not want to overcook. Use the best unsalted butter and cocoa that you can find and I think you will agree that this is a total keeper.Oh and if you're a chocolate chocolate person, you can (gasp) frost them. I used a super simple chocolate frosting: 1 c. granulated sugar, 1/4 c. butter, 1/4 milk: bring to boil over medium heat. Remove from heat and add 1/2 c. chocolate chips and 6 large marshmallows. Pour over top of brownies and let set for an hour or so before overindulging. SUPERB!

Leave a Reply

